More Viennese treats, I visit Schelato and Eis Grissler

Reviewing ice cream and gelato shops in Vienna is a daunting task as there are so many. But dammit, I’ve got two feet, a heartbeat and a transit pass so until one of those things fails I’ll eat all the ice cream I can.

My main guide in this pursuit is an article entitled ‘16 of Vienna’s favourite ice cream and gelati places‘ from Vienna Würstelstand, an English language magazine, it’s an excellent source if you’ve traveling to Vienna.

The two I recently visited are Schelato and Eis Greissler

The nice server at Schelato kindly agreed to be in the photo.

Location: Schelato, Schleifmühlgasse 11, 1040 Wien, Austria (other location is here)

Flavours tried: Milk chocolate, vanilla, salted caramel, heidelbeere (European blueberry)

Price: 2 scoops €3.10

The Schelato location is visited is a small space near the Naschmarkt it was busy but I got there after the lunchtime rush so I didn’t have to wait in line. I decided the husband should try the classic vanilla and chocolate and I tried the heidelbeere (European blueberry) and the salted caramel. We got cups and sat at their small sidewalk patio area. The vanilla was a solid vanilla, serviceable, which to be honest is all I expect from vanilla, but the chocolate was outstanding. The chocolate was rich and creamy and everything chocolate gelato should be.

My two scoops were also a bit uneven taste wise. I like berries and it was a hot day so I went for the heidelbeere for a refreshing scoop, I paired it with the salted caramel, which was actually not a great choice. I liked both flavours on their own, I just don’t think they worked well together.

Having said that the salted caramel was one of the best salted caramels I’ve ever had. It was neither too sweet nor too salty, there was a subtly in both the caramel and the salt so it was pretty much perfect.

I don’t want to ignore the  heidelbeere though, it was also very good, refreshing and with good berry flavour. I think for me it would have been better on it’s own though.

img_0497-1

Location: Eis Greissler, Neubaugasse 9, 1070 Wien, Austria (there are also other locations in Vienna and in Austria)

Flavours tried: Dark chocolate and vanilla

Price: 2 scoops €3 ? (Forgot to note this one)

When traveling, I research places I want to visit and then save the location on Google maps so I can check if I’m near something no matter where I am. I was window shopping in the Neubaugasse neighbourhood (the back streets have great little boutiques) and noticed that Eis Grissler was nearby.

It was a hot day but luckily it wasn’t busy, I opted for a two scoop cup, with dark chocolate, which happened to be vegan, and a vanilla.

The cup, which I am a fan of for fastidiousness sake was a bad choice in this case because there was nowhere to sit or even perch nearby. For some reason standing eating a cup of ice cream is just awkward. So top tip, get a cone here.

Maybe it was the awkward sidewalk eating but I just wasn’t paying much attention to this ice cream, I thought I would remember what it was like without notes. I admit this just wasn’t a memorable ice cream for me.

Perhaps I’ve somehow over ice creamed and they’re all becoming a blur? Too many eis kaffees? Is ice cream just not special to me anymore?

Nah. Just an off day.

I do remember the chocolate was very nice, and that it perhaps wasn’t as creamy because it was soya based, but that it was still excellent. I don’t remember anything about the vanilla at all. Really, I need to just stop ordering vanilla.

I would still recommend Eis Grissler, I would have remembered a bad ice cream, and looking at the photos of the flavour board they have some excellent vegan choices, which is always nice. Actually, looking at the flavour board I need to go back.

Leave a comment