Eat like a local at Eissalon Daniel

Location: Eissalon Daniel, Hütteldorfer Str. 70, 1150 Wien, Austria

Flavours tried: Coup Bounty sundae – stracciatella gelato, coconut,chocolate sauce and whipped cream

Also a Samarties sundae and cookies sundae

Price: € 6.10 for the Coup Bounty sundae

Coup Bounty sundae at Eissalon Daniel in Vienna

The least touristy spot I had ice cream in Vienna was Eissalon Daniel, it was as they say, on my list, and because I’m working from a list for English speakers who live and work in Vienna it’s not in a part of the city tourists usually visit.

There’s nothing near Eissalon Daniel that a typical tourist would go to, no museums, no hotels, no attractions. Thus it’s a very local ice cream cafe. That’s what made it great. When I arrived on a hot summer’s afternoon the outside patio was packed. The older couple beside me was sharing a sundae and reading the paper, there were seventy year old BFF’s chatting and having sundaes, people with their dogs in tow meeting friends for Apersol. (Which for reasons I don’t understand is very popular)

I sat and perused the menu, thankful for the pictures and the Google translate app. It took me forever to decide of course.

Just.So.Many.Choices.

I finally decided on one called Coup Bounty, which had straticallia gelato, chocolate sauce, coconut and whipped cream. It came in a lovely blue sundae glass, I do like the style of these ice cream shops, no plastic or paper cups here. The sundae was huge, which was fine, it was my lunch after all.

The whipped cream was nice, I do find it hard to say no to whipped cream so it’s nice when it’s a decent whipped cream. The chocolate sauce was good, sweet and chocolatey. The straticalla was fluffy and tasty.

However, the star of this sundae was the coconut, it was throughout the sundae and added a nice sweetness to every bite. I’m not usually one for coconut, I don’t hate it, nor do I seek it out, but this sundae made me rethink my coconut ignorance.

I liked the ice cream at Eissalon Daniel, the husband and I even returned and tried a Smarties sundae and a cookie sundae. Both were good.

I wouldn’t say the ice cream at Eissalon Daniel is the best in the city and that’s ok, sometimes you just need a sundae before tackling the grocery run.

I really enjoyed pretending to be Viennese at Eissalon Daniel.

Eissalon Daniel, Vienna