Feelin’ Fancy at Godiva Chocolate cafe

Location: Godiva Chocolate Cafe, Galleria Mall , Abu Dhabi

Flavours tried: Chocolate and vanilla twist cone

Price: 27 Dhs

I chose the Godiva Cafe location in the Galleria for two reasons, one, it’s in a sunlit atrium and two, it has views of the Louis Vuitton and Gucci stores. I have a weakness for designer handbags, but on my current ice cream cone budget I can only window shop. This cafe allows me to sit and gaze longingly at the unaffordable. And security does get a bit suspicious if you leave nose prints on the windows.

Also, and I say this a lot, I had a coupon! A 2 for 1 ice cream cone, so I treated my husband.

Godiva Cafe in the galleria mall Abu Dhabi, uae
Godiva Chocolate Cafe in The Galleria Mall, Abu Dhabi.

Godiva has chocolate and vanilla soft serve, you can order one or the other or do a twist. I chose the twist. My husband went with all chocolate. We ordered at the counter and then sat at a table, but I suppose you could sit and order instead.

I was a bit wary when I saw the ice cream, it had that icy sheen that you see on very cheap soft serve.

New lesson learned-never judge an ice cream by it’s sheen.

The ice cream itself was lovely. The vanilla was one of the tastiest I’ve tried, and it had specs of vanilla bean, which is the sign of a good vanilla. The chocolate was one of the darkest soft serve chocolates I’ve ever had. It was almost like ice cream fudge, or as if a container of the richest store bought icing had been turned into ice cream. Simply great.

The ice cream was a tad icy, not as melty or creamy as most gourmet soft serve. The iciness didn’t detract though, I think it just helped the ice cream not to melt quite as fast.

The cones at Godiva are waffle cones, and are a bit longer and narrower than other waffle cones I’ve had, as a bonus they’re dipped in milk chocolate at the top. It was a nice cone, tasted fine and was structurally sound, no ice cream leaking issues.

It’s still too hot in the UAE to even think about eating ice cream outside, however the Godiva cafe in the Galleria is a nice bright space, there’s lots of seating and you can see how the other half shop.