Amorino gelato, not just a pretty taste

Location: Amorino gelato in Abu Dhabi Mall, Abu Dhabi

Flavours tried: 1 small cone of – plain yogurt, strawberry, blueberry cheesecake and lychee AND 1 small cone of Dark chocolate and vanilla

Price: 22 dhs for a small

The Amorino gelato shops are probably best known for their unique flower cones. So of course on my first visit I ignored the pretty coloured gelato and went for what I was craving, which per usual, was chocolate. Later, when I looked at the photos it occurred to me that I could have done better visually. And quite frankly taste wise as well.

There’s more to life than chocolate.. (wow, what an awfully mature statement)

I returned to Amorino and, throwing caution to the wind, I asked for the server to make a pretty cone, using pink and white gelato (I don’t like mango or passion fruit, there’s a fine line between being adventurous and being foolish)

Dark chocolate and vanilla gelato flower cone from Amorino
Dark chocolate and vanilla gelato cone from Amorino

Bonus for me, and you, I ended up trying six flavours of Amorino gelato.

The pretty cone had an interesting mix, plain yogurt, strawberry, and a bit of blueberry cheesecake and lychee. The flower scoop turned out so well that the server asked if they could also take a photo.

By the time I ran outside and got the obligatory Instagram photo the cone was rapidly melting and I had to inhale the cone to prevent a total meltdown.

The plain yogurt gelato made a good base, it was a great option to mix with the other flavours/colours. The small amount of lychee was nice, a great mix with the yogurt. The dominant flavour was the strawberry, it overpowered everything but it was a lovely bright taste. There wasn’t much blueberry cheesecake in the scoop but I liked what I tasted.

No regrets about asking for a photogenic cone-it wasn’t a combination I would have thought of but it worked out to be both delicious and very pretty.

On my initial trip to Amorino I had tried the dark chocolate and the vanilla. These flavours are my go to because I feel a shop must get those flavours right so I can determine if it’s worth returning to try other flavours.

Photo of Amorino gelato case
The Amorino gelato case

The dark chocolate was a pleasant surprise, it looked like milk chocolate, but was very dark and rich. It had a bit of magic to it, the more I ate the better it tasted, the chocolate flavour got more intense with each bite.

The vanilla was fine, a bit icy, but fine.

The cones at Amorino are small and thin in shape, made out of a thick waffle cone. If I’m to be picky it seemed a bad match to the gelato, I would have expected a sugar cone perhaps. Maybe the waffle cone is a better base for making the flower cone? There’s quite a bit of specific paddling with the flower design so a sturdy cone is needed I think.

The Amorino kiosk is a bit awkwardly placed in Abu Dhabi Mall, it’s in the back hallway on the ground floor. There is bench nearby or you can stroll and window shop or if ambitious try to get to the main food court before your gelato melts.

Portion wise the small was a good size, and you can get as many flavours as you’d like.

Amorino gelato in Abu Dhabi Mall Abu Dhabi UAE
Amorino gelato in Abu Dhabi Mall